Jain Symbols

1)    Ahimsa Wheel:
The hand with a wheel on the palm symbolizes the Jain Vow of Ahimsa, meaning Non-violence. The word in the middle is "Ahimsa". The wheel represents the Dharmacakra, to halt the cycle of reincarnation through the pursuit of truth.

2)    Swastika:
The Swastika is among the holiest of Jain symbols. Worshippers use rice grains to create a Swastika around the temple altar. The holiest symbol is a simple swastika. A Jain swastika is normally associated with the three dots on the top accompanied with a crest and a dot.

3)    AUM or OM: Om is a holy word used in the beginning of many prayers. Aum or Om is also used to set a tune for meditation. Aum represents five supreme souls Arihants, Siddhas (Ashiri), Acharyas, Upadhyaya and munies (sadhu). Thus by taking the first letter of five parameshthies it becomes as follows: - A+A+A+U+M = AUM or"Om"
There are other symbols like Hrim, Ahrim and Aum-Hrim-Ahrim. These symbols are used for meditation purposes as explained below:

Hrim: It is a seed mantra. It represents invisible sound, infinity and divine energy of all tirthankars. While meditating HRIM one experiences sublimating of 24 Tirthankars.
Ahrim: The AHRIM mantra is pregnant with the vowels and a consonant of Sanskrit language.A is the first alphabet and H is the last alphabet of Sanskrit language. In this Mantra sound of all vowels and all consonants are present
Aum-Hrim-Arhim: This is also an ancient mantra that has miraculous and supreme effects over mystical seed mantra and by practicing it one can liberate him/herself from the cycle of birth.

Other major Jain symbols include:

•    24 Lanchhanas (symbols) of the Tirthankars
•    Triratna (three umbrellas, signifying triple gems of Jainism) and Shrivatsa symbols
•    A Tirthankar's or Chakravarti's mother Dreams
•    Dharmacakra and Siddha-chakra
•    Eight auspicious symbols - The Asta Mangalas. Their names are as follows:

1.    Swastika - Signifies peace and well-being
2.    Shrivatsa - A mark manifested on the centre of the Jina's chest, signifying a pure soul.
3.    Nandyavartya - Large swastika with nine corners
4.    Vardhamanaka - A shallow earthen dish used for lamps, suggests an increase in wealth, fame and merit due to a Jina's grace.
5.    Bhadrasana - Throne, considered auspicious because it is sanctified by the blessed Jina's feet.
6.    Kalasha - Pot filled with pure water signifying wisdom and completeness
7.    Minayugala - A fish couple. It signifies Cupid's banners coming to worship the Jina after defeating the God of Love
8.    Darpana - The mirror reflects one's true self because of its clarity.